Skip to content

Press Releases

Telecel Vodafone launches a single roaming tariff for Europe

Lisbon, 16 January 2001 – As from February, Telecel Vodafone customers travelling in Europe will be able to take advantage of “Eurocall”, an innovative service that will reduce and simplify roaming tariffs across the Vodafone Group’s networks. Customers who opt for the service will pay EUR 0.80 (PTE 160) per minute on roaming calls within Europe made from the Group’s networks in Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom – the “Gold Networks”.

“Eurocall”, available to over 70 million cellular phone customers in Europe, is the first pan-European service to be launched by the Vodafone networks. It replaces the current system under which the cost of roaming calls varies according to the time of day, the customer’s home network, the network visited abroad or the destination number. Taken together, these factors mean that, at present, there can be over ten thousand different charges for roaming calls. This system is now being replaced with a flat rate of EUR 0.80 (PTE 160) per minute, as stated above.

“Eurocall” offers a clear benefit for customers travelling abroad thanks to its single tariff and simplicity of use. Customers will also benefit from the best pan-European coverage, guaranteed by only top quality networks, and from the facilities provided by the Vodafone Group global reach.

“Eurocall” customers will also benefit from a single tariff on roaming calls made in several European countries, via other operators’ networks. For these “Silver Networks” calls, the rate will be EUR 0.95 (PTE 190) per minute.


Values exclude VAT.

Gold Networks: Tele.ring (Austria), Proximus (Belgium), SFR (France), D2 Vodafone (Germany), Panafon Vodafone (Greece), Omnitel Vodafone (Italy), Libertel Vodafone (Netherlands), Telecel Vodafone (Portugal), Airtel (Spain), Europolitan Vodafone (Sweden) and Vodafone UK (United Kingdom).

Silver Networks: All networks other than Gold Networks in the following European countries/territories: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Canary Islands, Denmark, Faeroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.