Skip to content

Press Releases

Vodafone Portugal takes fans to the MTV Europe Music Awards in Madrid

Lisbon, 25 October 2010 – From today until 31 October, Vodafone Portugal is running a competition exclusively for fans of the Vodafone Music page on Facebook, giving them the chance to win a trip to Madrid to attend the MTV Europe Music Awards 2010 (MTV EMA). The event, which is one of the most important music events of the year, will take place on 7 November at the Complexo Caja Magica.

The Vodafone Take Off MTV EMA 2010 competition is part of the company’s strategy of organising exclusive initiatives for Social Network users and involves various creative challenges and questions about the MTV EMA over three stages.

There will be only one winner in each stage but it is possible to take part in any of the stages up to the last day of the competition – each fan can compete as many times as they like and in whichever stages they wish. The first challenge will be launched today, 25 October, and during the week the remaining challenges will be posted on the Vodafone Music page on Facebook. The entries will be judged by a jury consisting of representatives of Vodafone and MTV and the winners will be announced on the competition page on 3 November.

The three winners of this competition will be taken by limousine, accompanied by MTV personnel, to Madrid on 7 November to attend the MTV EMA to be held at the Complexo Caja Magica the following day.

This initiative is part of the series of Vodafone Take Off initiatives designed to offer unique experiences to the Portuguese by enabling them to attend major music events abroad. Previous Take Offs include: Benicàssim International Festival (Valencia), Fuji Rock Festival (Japan), Osheaga Festival (Montreal), Lollapalooza Festival (Chicago), the first concert of the 2009 tour of U2 (Barcelona), an exclusive radio session by U2 (London), the Madonna concert at the MGM Grand (Las Vegas), the first live presentation of Madonna’s ‘Hard Candy’ album (New York) and the MTV Europe Music Awards 2007 and 2009 (Munich and Berlin).